2013: Motivation, Opportunities & Change

by claudiarusman

HELLO, where have I been in the past year?

Well, last time I ever logged on to my blog was last year at TAFE, where we had to submit our online portfolio of our work and now that I’m on holidays from uni/work, I’ve decided to do some of my own work on this blog. I’m a fan of reading fashion/beauty blogs and after reading a few PR blogs from overseas, I thought to myself that I haven’t really come across to interesting PR blogs here in Australia. I’m inspired to create a blog that talks about the beauty PR world through my experiences so far, but I promise it won’t just be everything based on PR and that’s one of the best things about having your own blog. You have the freedom to write about whatever you like and I just feel like nowadays everyone is blogging. Surprisingly, I actually use to blog back in primary school days!

Now to sum up in three words of 2013? Motivation, Opportunities & Change.

do-what-you-love

Image sourced: http://pushydreamers.com/tag/do-what-you-love/

Motivation – The year I finally got into university! After I finished high school, I didn’t get enough ATAR to get into my course and yes, I was upset. I will never forget the day, little Claudia felt like it was the end of the world, but it was my parents and my sister Peggy that told me not to give up my dream. So I decided to take a different road and complete a Diploma in TAFE as my pathway into university. After all the hard work, I got the opportunity to study my dream course – Bachelor of Communications. For those who didn’t get the ATAR you wanted, trust me, don’t worry about it and it’s not the end of the world! Everything will eventually work out. As long as you set your mind, be positive and motivate yourself to do well. If I can do it, you can too! Now that I’m done and dusted with my first year, I can finally say, “YOU DID IT, CLAUDIA!” Without my parents motivation and support, I wouldn’t be able to fulfill my dream.

Opportunities – I’ve been working in beauty PR for over a year now. This year in February, my boss started her own agency, “Sarah Humphries Agency (SHA)”. I got the opportunity to be one of her first staff members and it has been such a great year for us. It hasn’t been exactly a year for our agency, but we won the award for Beauty PR Team of the Year! How awesome is that! I’m always forever thankful to have the opportunity to work in this field from when I was 18 and be able to study at the same time. It can be challenging sometimes, but I believe you can get through this hurdle without no fear. I love coming into work and learn something different everyday, whether it be organising send outs to writing press releases and seeing your work get published is such a rewarding feeling. I hope for more exciting opportunities to come in the future.

Change – A couple of months after I started uni, I decided to quit working in retail at Supré after long 5 years! Honestly, it was such a tough decision because I’ve worked there from a very young age and it was pretty much my second home. Even though it can be tiring standing for 8 hours, doing loads of returns, annoying customers and pressure in making store budgets. The main highlight will always be working with the girls and door boys. I enjoyed every minute working with them and that is one of the secrets behind why I was there for a while. So yes, that was one big change for me this year and if I wasn’t working in SHA, I would still continue working in Supré throughout my uni degree.

Lastly, another change would be friendship. It’s true when they say things change as you grow older and sometimes I question myself if I’m doing anything wrong? But people change and you have to accept that, it’s part of life. This year, I’ve learnt to take the way things are and that’s just the way it plays out to be. You realise who’s actually there for you and who’s not. It really is about effort and making time for those who you love. For those who are reading this and you know who you are, thank you!

And that’s a wrap for 2013! Thank you for taking your time reading this and please do leave a comment if you have any questions at all! I look forward to getting back to doing more blog posts 🙂

You can also follow me on my social media handles:

Instagram: @claudianessa

Twitter: @ClaudiaRusman

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/claudia.rusman

Cx

